History of American Legion Otterman Post 94

Otterman Post No. 94, the American Legion, was formed by veterans of World War I at a meeting held on September, 1919, in the old post office building in White River, SD. In this meeting the name Otterman was selected for the name of the post in memory of the two Otterman boys, Tom and Allen, who were killed overseas in France during WWI. They were the first two casualties from the White River Community during World War One. Also at this meeting the first officers of the post were elected: Alfred R. Dendy as post commander and C. E. Kell as post adjutant. The request for a charter was made to the American Legion from the temporary headquarters at 19 West 44th Street, NY and a temporary charter was issued October 13, 1919, with the following as charter members:

  • Wilfred R. Wilder
  • Alba W. Anderson
  • Archie Pearsall
  • Bob Pearsall
  • Paul E. Gapen
  • Benjamin H Smith
  • Herman R Pole
  • William H Marshall
  • A. E. Miller
  • Cecil E. Kell
  • Charles W. Findler
  • Charles Leonard
  • Francis E. Bouza
  • Alfred R. Dendy
  • Walter Knudson
  • Emma D. Bush
  • Clarence H. Hight

On March 5, 1926, the permanent charter was issued to the Otterman Post No 94 of White River.